Profile Information

Professor, Digital Content and Media Sciences Research Division, National Institute of Informatics
(Honorary Professor), University of Edinburgh
教授, 複合科学研究科, 総合研究大学院大学
PhD (Dr. Eng)(Tokyo Institute of Technology)

researchmap Member ID

External link

Junichi Yamagishi received the Ph.D. degree from Tokyo Institute of Technology in 2006 for a thesis that pioneered speaker-adaptive speech synthesis. He is currently a Professor with the National Institute of Informatics, Tokyo, Japan, and also a Senior Research Fellow with the Centre for Speech Technology Research, University of Edinburgh, Edinburgh, U.K. Since 2006, he has authored and co-authored more than 250 refereed papers in international journals and conferences.

He was an area coordinator at Interspeech 2012. He was one of organizers for special sessions on “Spoofing and Countermeasures for Automatic Speaker Verification” at Interspeech 2013, “ASVspoof evaluation” at Interspeech 2015, “Voice conversion challenge 2016” at Interspeech 2016, “2nd ASVspoof evaluation” at Interspeech 2017, and “Voice conversion challenge 2018” at Speaker Odyssey 2018. He is currently an organizing committee for ASVspoof 2019, an organizing committee for ISCA the 10th ISCA Speech Synthesis Workshop 2019, a technical program committee for IEEE ASRU 2019, and an award committee for ISCA Speaker Odyssey 2020.

He was a member of IEEE Speech and Language Technical Committee. He was also an Associate Editor of the IEEE/ACM TRANSACTIONS ON AUDIO, SPEECH, AND LANGUAGE PROCESSING and a Lead Guest Editor for the IEEE JOURNAL OF SELECTED TOPICS IN SIGNAL PROCESSING special issue on Spoofing and Countermeasures for Automatic Speaker Verification. He is currently a guest editor for Computer Speech and Language special issue on speaker and language characterization and recognition: voice modeling, conversion, synthesis and ethical aspects. He also serves as a chairperson of ISCA SynSIG currently.

He was the recipient of the Tejima Prize as the best Ph.D. thesis of Tokyo Institute of Technology in 2007. He received the Itakura Prize from the Acoustic Society of Japan in 2010, the Kiyasu Special Industrial Achievement Award from the Information Processing Society of Japan in 2013, the Young Scientists’ Prize from the Minister of Education, Science and Technology in 2014, the JSPS Prize from Japan Society for the Promotion of Science in 2016, and Docomo mobile science award from Mobile communication fund in 2018.



Major Misc.


Major Books and Other Publications


Major Presentations


Major Works


Major Research Projects


Major Social Activities


Media Coverage


Major Other